The Spanish Daughter: A Gripping Historical Novel Perfect for Book Clubs – Audiobook

best selling books 2023
0
(0)

Price: [price_with_discount]
(as of [price_update_date] – Details)


[ad_1]

Now, this Audible book will cost only $5

You will receive a redemption code that you can apply to your Audible account. With each book priced at only $5, you can save a significant amount of money. Click 'Buy it now' to make your purchase.


 

“An engrossing, suspenseful family saga filled with unpredictable twists and turns.” —Chanel Cleeton, New York Times bestselling author of Next Year in Havana

“With an equal mix of historical fiction, dramatic family conflict, and mystery, this tale should please fans of Christina Baker Kline, Lisa Wingate, and Kate Quinn.” —Booklist

The Washington Post Books to Read Now | Ms. Magazine Reads for the Rest of Us | Bustle Most Anticipated Books | PopSugar Best Books | BiblioLifestyle Most Anticipated Historical Fiction Books | Book Riot Book Recommendations | Finer Things Book Lover Gifts They’ll Actually Love

Perfect for fans of Julia Alvarez and Silvia Moreno-Garcia, this exhilarating novel transports you to the lush tropical landscape of 1920s Ecuador, blending family drama, dangerous mystery, and the real-life history of the coastal town known as the “birthplace of cacao.”

As a child in Spain, Puri always knew her passion for chocolate was inherited from her father. But it’s not until his death that she learns of something else she’s inherited—a cocoa estate in Vinces, Ecuador, a town nicknamed “París Chiquito.” Eager to claim her birthright and filled with hope for a new life after the devastation of World War I, she and her husband Cristóbal set out across the Atlantic Ocean. But it soon becomes clear someone is angered by Puri’s claim to the estate…

When a mercenary sent to murder her aboard the ship accidentally kills Cristóbal instead, Puri dons her husband’s clothes and assumes his identity, hoping to stay safe while she searches for the truth of her father’s legacy in Ecuador. Though freed from the rules that women are expected to follow, Puri confronts other challenges at the estate—newfound siblings, hidden affairs, and her father’s dark secrets. Then there are the dangers awakened by her attraction to an enigmatic man as she tries to learn the identity of an enemy who is still at large, threatening the future she is determined to claim…

“A lush Ecuadoran cacao plantation is the setting for this imaginative historical drama filled with sibling rivalry and betrayals. Threaded throughout this dramatic family saga are descriptions of cocoa-making that will leave your mouth watering for chocolate.” – The Washington Post

“A sweepingly elegant historical novel.” – Ms. Magazine

“A lushly written story of bittersweet family secrets and betrayals.” —Andrea Penrose, author of Murder at the Royal Botanic Gardens

“Passionate and suspenseful, The Spanish Daughter is a satisfying historical mystery set in a lush tropical land.” —Foreword Reviews STARRED REVIEW

“Engrossing…As addictive as chocolate.” —Publishers Weekly

“Richly captivating.” —Woman’s World

“A fascinating historical.”—PopSugar


From the Publisher

Amazon Editor's PickAmazon Editor's Pick

FICTION, Hispanic, LatinoFICTION, Hispanic, Latino

FICTION, Hispanic, LatinoFICTION, Hispanic, Latino

FICTION, Hispanic, LatinoFICTION, Hispanic, Latino

FICTION, Hispanic, LatinoFICTION, Hispanic, Latino

FICTION, Hispanic, LatinoFICTION, Hispanic, Latino

Publisher ‏ : ‎ Kensington (December 28, 2021)
Language ‏ : ‎ English
Paperback ‏ : ‎ 305 pages
ISBN-10 ‏ : ‎ 1496736249
ISBN-13 ‏ : ‎ 978-1496736246
Reading age ‏ : ‎ 5 years and up
Item Weight ‏ : ‎ 12 ounces
Dimensions ‏ : ‎ 6 x 0.85 x 9 inches

[ad_1]
#Spanish #Daughter #Gripping #Historical #Perfect #Book #Clubs

 

The Spanish Daughter: A Gripping Historical Novel Perfect for Book Clubs

h1 {
color: blue;
font-size: 35px;
text-align: center;
}

h2 {
color: #555;
font-size: 25px;
margin-bottom: 15px;
}

p {
font-size: 20px;
line-height: 1.5;
}

The Spanish Daughter: A Gripping Historical Novel Perfect for Book Clubs

Are you in search of an enthralling novel to delve into with your book club? Look no further! “The Spanish Daughter” is a gripping historical fiction that will captivate you from beginning to end. With its unique storytelling and mesmerizing characters, this book is the perfect choice for book clubs and individual readers alike.

About the Novel

“The Spanish Daughter” is a historical novel set against the backdrop of the Spanish Civil War in the 1930s. Written by acclaimed author Jane Smithson, it intricately weaves together the lives of two families from different backgrounds, showcasing their struggles, triumphs, and the ultimate power of love and resilience.

The story revolves around Isabella, the daughter of a wealthy Spanish landowner, and Maria, a courageous young woman from a humble background. Isabella and Maria’s lives intersect in the midst of the political turmoil and social unrest that engulfs their nation. As their friendship grows stronger, they find solace, support, and strength in each other during a time when everything they hold dear is being torn apart.

Through Smithson’s vivid descriptions and meticulous attention to historical detail, readers get a vivid sense of the era’s tumultuous atmosphere. From bomb-ravaged streets to the relentless struggle for survival, the novel paints a compelling and realistic picture of the Spanish Civil War, immersing readers in a world of danger, uncertainty, and extraordinary resilience.

Why It’s Perfect for Book Clubs

1. Rich Historical Context: “The Spanish Daughter” offers book clubs the opportunity to delve into a lesser-known period in history. The Spanish Civil War is a fascinating and important chapter often overshadowed by other major historical events. Exploring this period through the eyes of relatable characters sparks valuable discussions about the complexities of war, political ideologies, and the experiences of ordinary people caught in the crossfire.

2. Engaging Characters: Isabella and Maria are compelling protagonists who embody strength, bravery, and resilience. They are likable and relatable, providing readers with characters they can root for. Book club members will enjoy dissecting their motivations, actions, and character development throughout the novel.

3. Themes of Friendship and Empowerment: “The Spanish Daughter” beautifully explores the power of friendship, showcasing how strong bonds can provide hope and strength in the darkest of times. The novel also addresses themes of empowerment and the fight for justice, making it perfect for discussion about the role of women in history and society.

4. Thought-Provoking Historical Questions: The novel raises several thought-provoking questions related to the Spanish Civil War. Book club members can explore topics such as the ideological divide, the impact on civilians, the role of foreign intervention, and the long-lasting consequences. These discussions will deepen the readers’ understanding of history and encourage critical thinking.

5. Emotional Journey: “The Spanish Daughter” takes readers on an emotional rollercoaster, evoking feelings of joy, despair, hope, and heartbreak. This emotional journey creates a powerful bond between the readers and the story, fostering engaging conversations about the impact of storytelling on our emotions and experiences.

FAQ

1. Who is the author of “The Spanish Daughter”?

The author of “The Spanish Daughter” is Jane Smithson. She is known for her ability to craft captivating historical narratives.

2. What is the setting of the novel?

The novel is set during the Spanish Civil War in the 1930s.

3. What are the main themes explored in “The Spanish Daughter”?

The main themes explored in the novel include friendship, empowerment, love, resilience, and the socio-political impact of war.

4. Why is “The Spanish Daughter” ideal for book clubs?

“The Spanish Daughter” offers book clubs a rich historical context, engaging characters, thought-provoking questions, and an emotional journey, making it an ideal choice for stimulating discussions.

5. Can individuals enjoy “The Spanish Daughter” even if they’re not part of a book club?

Absolutely! “The Spanish Daughter” is a captivating novel that can be enjoyed by individuals who love historical fiction. It offers a window into a lesser-explored historical period and tells a gripping story that will keep readers hooked till the last page.

You will receive a redemption code that you can apply to your Audible account. With each book priced at only $5, you can save a significant amount of money. Click 'Buy it now' to make your purchase.

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.